Feel like it’s time to stop and delete your Twitter?
Of course, social media platforms are outlets where you can stay on top of the news and events and cultural conversations.
But there is also “DoomsCrolling” – you know, when you wade through bad news and keep scrolling. It was very difficult to avoid last year because many Americans remained at home during the Covid-19 pandemic.
And, like Facebook and Instagram, Twitter experienced a fair problem, with all beef, intimidation and disinformation.
If you find yourself ready to tweeting once and for all, this is what you can do to permanently delete your account.
You must deactivate Twitter first
While Twitter allows you to disable your account like Facebook and Instagram, it functions a little different. To delete your Twitter account, you must deactivate it first.
To do this, go to more on the left side of the screen, then set up and privacy. Under “Your Account,” you will see the option to deactivate your account.
You can choose to reactivate your account after 30 days or after 12 months. If you don’t choose the option to reactivate, your account will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
When disabled, your username and profile will not appear on the Twitter website or cellular application. If you pay attention to your account reactivated without you using the application, maybe because of the third-party application that you provide permission to connect to your Twitter account. Be sure to revoke third party access.
What happens when you delete your Twitter?
If you don’t access your account for 30 days after deactivating it, it will be permanently deleted. That means you can’t activate it back after the 30 day window, and all your old tweets are lost.
However, your information may still appear on search engines like Google and Bing. You must follow up with the appropriate search engine to delete the data.
Also, if you still want to keep old tweets, Twitter allows users to download their archives.